Juice Cleanse: Day One

peeled

 

(via)

I woke up yesterday morning genuinely looking forward to cleanse. I was curious to try the juices and see what they’d be like as the extent of my vegetable juice drinking goes as far as Bloody Mary’s ūüėČ

At 6:30, my tummy started rumbling. I had a cup of¬†decaffeinated¬†green tea and it calmed down for a little while. The handy How-To guide that came with my juices said that I was to drink one juice every two hours, so I wanted to start promptly at 8:00 am. This idea kind of scared me because that would mean my last juice would be at 6:00 pm… How would I survive the rest of the night?!

At 8:00 am, I had my first green juice, which was a blend of leafy greens, ginger, and lemon. This juice was loaded with chlorophyll and all 5 servings of vegetables AND fruits for the day! Talk about a super juice! The verdict…It wasn’t terrible! it was actually very refreshing–I could definitely taste some parsley in there. the best way I can describe it is that is tasted like a salad–with no dressing or extra veggies in it haha!¬†After I finished the 16 oz at about 9:30, I felt really great. Energized, alert, bright, and light. Shortly after, I got a mild headache but it only lasted a couple minutes. My tummy started rumbling at about 10:30, just in time for the next juice.

I had been hearing about that crazy lemonade with cayenne pepper and maple syrup concoction for years¬†and I always had mixed feelings about how that would taste.¬†And now I had one in my hand ready to be drank. This was¬†definitely¬†interesting. It tastes like lemonade, but there is a sharp bite from the cayenne after you swallow. It’s very odd. I was a little afraid about the maple syrup being in my drink, but I really couldn’t taste it at all. After that one, I was¬†feeling pretty good.

I was surprised at how full I felt. And I was¬†especially¬†shocked by how much I was not obsessing over the food I wasn’t eating. If I got a little hunger pang between juices, I would just drink tea or hot water with lemon in between. I was feeling on top of the world! But then, at 11:00 our building manager refilled our candy bowl with Twix, Snickers, and M&Ms. And then someone put a cookie cake in the kitchen. And then a group of people ordered Chinese food food for lunch–one of my favorite things! The smell was intoxicating… So I ran away! I went out for a little errand running during the lunch break and when I returned, the smell had just about subsided. And I had conquered the cravings! Don’t get me wrong–I love food. LOVE IT. But in those few hours, I learned that I don’t need to give in to every offering of food presented to me. If this were any other day, I would have had a couple candies, a slice of cookie cake, and been a part of that lunch order, all before noon. I felt even better after that ūüôā

Then came the trying moment. The red juice is the worst one for me, I learned. It’s a beet juice with carrots and watermelon, but the beet juice is definitely the most prominent. And I hate beets! Ugh. It took me about an hour and a half to drink it, I’m not kidding. I had flashbacks to my mother trying to get me to take cough syrup or finish my last bites of food I didn’t want: “Ok. Now take four sips. GOOD GIRL! Now take a break. … Ok, now FIVE sips!” How embarrassing! I rewarded myself with my new favorite thing: hot water with lemon! I¬†seriously¬†feel like an old lady saying that, but it really is perfect. It’s light and refreshing and totally warms you up! So good.

It was at this point that I realized I had been drinking my juices too slowly. I was supposed to have four while I was at work and I ended up only drinking three–I had my fourth in the car on the way home. But then I had to have another red juice in about an hour. By this point, it was already 7:00 and I was still full–and I still had my cashew milk, the light at the end of the red juice tunnel, to go!¬†The cashew milk was¬†heavenly–smooth, rich and creamy with some cinnamon and nutmeg. It was a very sweet and protein-rich end to my day. I wish they sold it by itself because I’d drink it all the time!

By 10:00, I had finally drank all of my juices. Overall, it was a great day. It was much easier than I thought it would be. I felt great all day and if I ever craved food–usually when someone else around me was eating something awesome–the craving would subside with in a few minutes anyway. I feel like everything around me is somehow clearer–my head and my vision are more focused and clear. I never felt tired or irritable. I felt like my usual self all day, just a better, healthier version. I felt very clean!

Now that all this is said and done, we’ll see what is in store for my next two days… I hope I didn’t jinx myself! ūüėČ Wish me luck!

Namaste.

2 thoughts on “Juice Cleanse: Day One

  1. Pingback: Juice Cleanse: Day Two & Three | The Anxious Yogi

  2. Pingback: Spring is in the Air | The Anxious Yogi

Leave a Reply

