Kitchen Sink Soup [recipe]

Whew! After finishing a crazy-busy week and preparing for an even crazier-busier week ahead of me, I realized that I hadn’t planned anything for My Meatless Monday! After I got over the initial panic, I thought to myself, “Why not make a soup?!” and the day was saved! I love soup, especially in the winter. And it has definitely felt like winter over the past few weeks here in the good ol’ Midwest.

I ran to the fridge to scope out my options, but to my dismay, I realized that while I had a ton of vegetables, I didn’t have enough of any one or two types to make a nice, tasty soup 😦 But thanks to my slowly-but-surely-becoming-calm and yoga-tastic mind, I decided to just roll with what I had and hope for the best! And thus, my Kitchen Sink Soup was born!

FAIR WARNING: Because I just kind of improvised this recipe, it’s not going to follow the traditional recipe instructions and flow and preciseness and whatnot. Just use whatever you have and do whatever you want to do! I should also call this Free Spirit Soup or something! Haha!

Kitchen Sink Soup

  1. Look in your refrigerator.
  2. Notice you have a little bit of a lot of stuff.
  3. Panic.
  4. Clam down.
  5. Preheat oven to 400°
  6. Spray a pan with non-stick spray.
  7. Lay out veggies. (I used: 1 bag of baby carrots, 1 red pepper, 1/2 tomato, 1 bag of broccoli florets)
  8. Brush with olive oil.
  9. Season with salt and pepper.

IMG_1303          IMG_1302

10.  Roast for 20-30 minutes, or until carrots are soft

IMG_1306          IMG_1307

I also just happened to have some ginger on hand, and I’ve seen a lot of recipes for carrot-ginger soup, so I minced some of that up, too! (Make sure you shave the skin off with a knife or with a peeler.)

IMG_1304          IMG_1305

When my veggies were all glorious and ready, I plopped them into my wonderful food processor and let them whirl away until they were nice and blended. I added 3 teaspoons of ginger for the volume of soup I ended up making (about 6 cups) and I think it was a pretty tasty amount–not too overpowering, but definitely there.

IMG_1308

I added 4 cups of vegetable stock to a large pot and heated it up. Then I added my veggie-mixture…

IMG_1309

and let them meld away! (I like to let it all come to a boil, then turn it down to low and cover for about 20 minutes.)

IMG_1311

And voila! Kitchen Sink Soup!

IMG_1314

I was very pleasantly surprised with this. I wasn’t sure how a mostly carrot and broccoli soup would taste, but I gotta say, it’s pretty great. I think the star here is the ginger–very refreshing and bright. I don’t cook with ginger too often, so this was a welcome change of pace! When I sat down to enjoy a bowl, I gave it a shake of red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit. Delish! Usually, soup recipes say to strain out the soup to get rid of the bitty chunks, but I actually like the texture this has, so I left it as-is.

The moral of the story? It’s hard to mess up a meal if you use ingredients you really enjoy. (If it weren’t Meatless Monday, I definitely would’ve added some shredded chicken in to the mix. Next time!) While I won’t exactly plan on making a Kitchen Sink Soup again, it’s good to know that it can be done when you’re in a pinch and don’t feel like making a trip to the store. I foresee another adventure like this in my future, and that’s perfectly OK with me!

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

