Day 8, 9, 10 & 11

What I learned this weekend: I need to be better at managing my writing time on the weekends. Once again, it totally got away from me and here I am now with a huge catch-up writing day. ::sigh:: C’est la vie! Today I had to take a 1/2 day from work because the guy from the gas company had to come check the meter inside the house. Blerg. It’s so frustrating that you have to sit and potentially wait 4 hours for someone to do 5 minutes of work. Oh well, that’s just the way it goes, I guess :-/ One the upside, though, that means I got to catch up on the days I haven’t written about.

The video for today is… wait for it… BAKASANA! aka crow (or crane) pose. This is a pose that I have worked on for years and I just cannot get it. I’m going to do the video tonight instead of this morning because I really want to focus on it–which I know I won’t be able to do while waiting for the gas man to come to ring the bell at any second. (Anxious Yogi, indeed!) On with the past four days of the 21 Day Yoga Challenge:

Day Eight focused on shoulder openers. It was another very gentle, slow sequence. You could do it either while seated in a chair or on your mat. It emphasized reaching back or over your body without straining your back or neck, really just focusing on your shoulders and how they move. It was good to learn some of the new moves for it and I’ll probably borrow some poses when I have tension in the shoulders, but I don’t think I’d do the whole sequence again.

Day Nine was the same core video from Day Three. It was easier this time because I knew what was coming–I had previously talked about how I felt the instructor wasn’t very clear in her direction, so this time around it went a lot smoother. I haven’t really worked out my core since then, so I still felt that nice burn in my abs when doing this video. Once again, this is a great video, but I think it’s a better way to warm up your core than really work it out. I’m going to do more intense ab exercises in the future to really build strength.

Day 10 was more standing poses with Jason Crandell (my fav!). It was the same video from Day Two. As I said in that entry, I love this video and I love this instructor! It’s an awesome, energizing sequence that really feels like a great workout. You get a lot of great stretches out of it and Jason really emphasizes keeping your form strong and correct and introduces great ways to always be checking this. I was very happy to do this again.

Day 11 was a forward bends sequence with Elise Lorimer. She did backbends in Day Six and they were great. This time was no different–she went at a great pace and really encouraged you to get deep into the stretches. The beginning featured placing a rolled up blanket just below your shoulders and letting your back melt over that roll. It felt soooo good! Such a great opening and an amazing stretch. She did a series of pseudo-sun salutations, as I like to call them (some of the poses in the traditional sequence were switched out with different ones) followed by some lunge-type poses, pigeon, and lots of down dog to counter those more forward stretches. Elise stated at the beginning that this sequence was great for right after work to unwind, but I found it was still energizing for the morning. Definitely a great video to do any time and I will be revisiting it when I need some good back stretches.

Whew! There we go. Short and sweet. And the gas man got here at about 10 so I got to do some quick yoga on my own before I got ready for work. Nice! Now I’m going to lunch with a friend before heading to work. Half days are always weird–you get to pretend you’re free for a bit before reality steps in and reminds you that you have other obligations to take care of. It was worth it though. I’m glad I got so much accomplished this morning, not to mention that I had to wake up early on Saturday and Sunday so I got to sleep in just a bit today 🙂 All is well and good over here. Have a great rest of your day. Wish me luck with my bakasana! (I’ll need it!) And as always…

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

