Welcome!

I’m not one for New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve always felt that if there’s something in your life you’d like to change or if you want to try something new, you shouldn’t wait until January 1st just because that represents a “clean slate” to our society. But I suppose I’m not much better, as whenever I want to change something I decide to wait until the next Monday, rather than starting as soon as I have the thought.

And yet, here I am. January 2, 2013 starting the blog I’ve always wanted to. In my defense, the thing holding me back was that I didn’t know what to focus on. The thought to write a blog about maintaining a healthy lifestyle as well as strengthening my yoga practice came to me this afternoon.

And voilà!

So, if you’re still here by this point, I assume you have a slight interest in what I have to say so far, so here’s my story:

I first became interested in yoga about 9 years ago (oy!) when it was the latest “fitness craze” going around. Being 16 at the time, I did maybe a couple hours a week before I would forget about it for 4 months and then do it for another couple weeks and then move on. This pattern would continue for about 8 years. I always chalked it up to just “not getting into it.” I would either get bored with what the instructors would call “stillness” or get discouraged by my lack of progress. The main issue here, obviously, is that in order to have progress, you must have practice.

While I was in college, my mom “got into” yoga. But not like I did. She committed. She practiced almost every day and eventually went on a yoga retreat in the Bahamas to hone her skills for a whole week.

mom1         mom2

(This is my mom in 2009. So you can imagine what she can do now. She’s awesome!)

I was amazed by the things she could do and noticed the transformation in her body and her spirit and wanted in on the action. So I decided to dive back in!

…The same pattern mentioned earlier continued on another 2 years. But last winter, I bought a Groupon for a yoga studio in the city and fell in love with hot yoga, particularly Vinyasa flow yoga. Since then, I’ve been fairly consistent. I haven’t made it a solid habit, but I can say that I have practiced more in the last year than in the last 8 combined, which may or may not being saying something.

Oh, and most importantly, this May my mom and I are going to the same Ashram she went to for her first Yoga Vay Cay! I am super excited for this. I’m also a bit nervous. I have to make sure I’m in tip-top shape for this so I can reap all the benefits this trip has to offer. And also so I don’t look like a big dumb idiot amongst all the amazing yoga bodies around me. But honestly, I think the thing I’m most nervous for is the one hour (!) meditation each morning… but I’m going to try to not worry any more until the time comes.

So here I am now, ready to focus on my yoga and make it a routine and, let’s be honest, be good at it.

The first step, I think, is figuring out what my road blocks are and to find solutions for them:

  • Problem: Too expensive. Solution: Do it at home or find studios that offer a first-time free class. If I find a studio I really like, maybe pay for one class a week and do the rest at home.
  • Problem: Class times are no good for my schedule. Solution: Do it at home.
  • Problem: I can’t get the breathing down right. Solution: Practice it.
  • Problem: I don’t do the poses right. Solution: …Practice it.

Pretty lame excuses with pretty simple solutions. So I guess from here, I have no reason to not continue the journey. Wish me luck!

Namaste 🙂

Leave a Reply

